terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, I Went Opening Day

I skivved off work yesterday afternoon (alright, I was owed the hours and took them) and went to see the final Star Wars movie. I was 22 when the first one came out. I remember how it rocked me; so deeply that no matter how good or bad the rest were, I had to see them just to try to recapture some of that sense of wonder.

This last one isn't bad, nor is it particularly good except in comparison to episodes I and II. It has its satisfactions in bringing the stories together. The fights are generally exciting and nicely filmed. Things look right. But, alas for the script and actors. It sounds like an elaborately shot story board. Anakin hears the news his wife is pregnant, the Jedi council begins to doubt Anakin, the Sith Lord reveals himself, etc., etc. Everything is on the surface and both bland and raw in its exposition. No one seems to have any inner life. The only scene that has any poignancy to me is the final destruction of Anakin by Obi-Wan. And (spoiler here) the lopping off of limbs gets more than a little repetitive by 1/2 way through. Although if there were such a thing as a light sabre I suppose that would be quite the hazard.

Anyway, I'm glad I went because there is a sense of closure to be had. BTW, there was a preview for The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe which I found really compelling. I didn't discover the Narnia books until I was in my teens, but loved them well. And the movie promises to bring them to life very well indeed.

6:48 a.m. - 2005-05-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora