terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Merry-go-round with Mom

Yesterday Mom and I road a merry-go-round. We went to the local fair to benefit the hospital from which she graduated from nursing school over 50 years ago. It is a very good hospital, and part of the fabric of the community. It is located in the county seat and not-for-profit. I was born there, my mother's father was treated for childhood injuries there, my siblings and I (and everyone else in town for that matter) have been through that emergency room at one time or another, or volunteered as candy-stripers (are they still around?) or helped out at its charity functions, or whatever. But yesterday the only thing that was important was a mom and a daughter buying raffle tickets and funnel cake and taking a ride that went up and down and around.

Mom is being difficult as in we can't tell what is on her mind. Her chemo treatments have been delayed until after a new MRI to take a look at one questionable spot that may be a metastisized cancer (not really expected but they have to be sure). My sister and I keep wondering if the delay in scheduling is Mom's doing or just inavailability of time for the test. It is so hard to know. I took her some special shampoo and conditioner that's supposed to be good for people losing their hair during treatment. It probably was a gesture more for me than her. I feel quite helpless.

This morning as I lay in bed blearily trying to focus on today and what needs to be done, a thing I've been expecting happened. Mao Mao jumped up while Paddywhack was still snoozing. Much hissing and yowling ensued and I was awake, quite irrevocably. But in a way I'm very happy because it means that Mao Mao is trying to get back to where we were in our morning rituals. Kitty detente will happen. Eventually and after a few more adreneline momments, no doubt.

Time for some coffee.

6:33 a.m. - 2005-05-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora