terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Want a Pensieve

I want a Pensieve; I got virtually no sleep last night because I could not turn off my brain. Between algebra class and my boss's request for suggestions on how to improve our office output (which in turn led to an obsessive internal recitation of everything that is wrong with this job), and cats who have entered a new phase of hostility, peace was not to be had.

The cats, I have decided, are now beyond the territorial issues and into competing for scarce resources, i.e. my attention. Madame Mao is suddenly getting bolder about entering Paddywhack's turf if I am there, and much more aggressive about chasing her away from her own turf if I am present. The Whack Cat is becoming a subtle bully, lying where she knows Mao Mao will have to cross her path. Or if Mao enters the bedroom for cat luv, Paddywhack immediately runs in after to drive her off. I cannot even give one cat a drink of milk from the cereal bowl (after I am done, of course) without the other getting distressed. I suppose this, too, shall pass. But the spatting in the middle of the night is getting old.

The work stuff I'm more concerned about. I am so tired of being asked how to improve things when no fundamental changes are in the works (either of people or resources). You have to get people to invest in change, and no one here except me and maybe my boss sees the necessity. And XFL has just acquired another company. I am beginning to fear for my job. This is not that I expect to be RIFed. Rather, I look at the history of the former Bridge News company that tried to acquire its way into prosperity, failed to integrate or capitalize on their new assests, and thus went out of business in 18 months. Anyway, I need to do the brain dump in response to my truly wonderful boss's request and get past this. Like a Tourette's sufferer, I have to speak whether I want to or not, and seem to repeat the same phrases over and over. I gotta finish my B.S. and get outta here.

And have any of you looked at Celynen's page recently? The scroll she did for my Golden Dolphin is awesome. Now I just hope I don't insult her with my efforts on her Pearl scroll. I have plenty of confidence in Knitgeek's lettering skills, but my own illumination is a bit rusty, and never was up to C's level. But I shall do my best.

6:23 a.m. - 2005-07-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora