terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Potter is Read, but Probably Not Reread Until the Final Book

Being the geek I am, the new Harry Potter book is bought and read. Was it worth a two year wait? Eh. It was too much about relationships and not enough about actual events for my taste; this from a Jane Austin fan in whose books relationships are all. But HP shouldn't be so much exposition to my thinking; I want a little action and adventure. It was more like Noah's ark with the pairing off two-by-two in advance of the flood. And just a little too much of a ride on the deus ex machina airlines at times. I confess the only character that really seemed interesting was Snape. You really don't know if he's a good guy or bad guy. My vote is deeply tragic good bad guy, but then he's been one of my favorite characters from the beginning. I guess I identify with the downtrodden geeks who bear grudges and who have minimial social skills. I don't like them per se, but I get the bitterness and misfit aspects.

Which is proably also why I rather liked the new Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Willy Wonka is not a nice man in this movie.

7:45 p.m. - 2005-07-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora