terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Major Shopping Score

Two entries in one day, but this is noteworthy in a girl sort of way.

Just before picking up lunch I decided to extend a recent exercise in futility. I want a nice, plain black wool skirt for Fall and Winter. I had one several years ago that was perfect, but like all such things it has made its way to Buddha. I've been looking and finding only cheesy, lightweight fabrics and bad styles. I do not want a pleat ruffle around the bottom or a hem of cheap black lace, or a fringe that looks like it belongs on a low rent couch.

So I headed to the store in the basement of my office building before the lunch buffet. Today was a small triumph in that I found a CK skirt that was only modestly overpriced and only slightly like upholstery fabric. I declared victory and took it to the fitting room.

On the way I passed the sale rack of designer Italian suits, the kind that cost about the same as a plane ticket to Italy, with a tag that says they are slightly discounted. I have developed a great fondness for Italian clothing since after my February adventure I have discovered it actually fits me (shorter waist, longer sleeves) unlike 'Murican cuts. Upon the rack, calling my name, is a lambswool suit in a charcoal check in a classic, yet stylish cut. This, too, comes to the fitting room.

Everything fits.

Then begins the internal conversation. "You need clothing for Fall." (I do, in fact.) "You need a good interview suit that is unmistakably high class." (If I get my act together and actually start job hunting.) "This will inspire you to do so." (If the heckish conditions under which I work don't inspire me to get out, no suit will.) "You will be able to wear this for years." (I will, in fact.) "You can use a decent suit for when you visit New York." (Not untrue.) "How many suits do you find that fit this well?" (Next to none.) "You're not going to lose weight any time soon, so it will continue to fit." (Alas, only likely to be too right.) "Its a sales tax holiday, you won't have to spend as much." (It wouldn't be that big a savings, but still ...)

So I dig out Ye Old AmEx and head for checkout.

The helpful cashier starts ringing the purchases up. She pulls up the extra discount screen. I think, "Ah, good, this will be less painful." She enters 90%. I think, "Holy Crap, this has gotta be wrong." Nope. Major Shopping Score!

I've just finished lunch and am heading back downstairs. Maybe there is one more suit calling my name. I hope, I hope, I hope ....



Later: there were no more suits that I liked and/or fit me. However, I shall be quite content with the one. It's a girl thing, at which I am usually so bad, and this time did so well. ;-)

11:57 a.m. - 2005-08-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora