terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some Good, Some Less Good

I'm feeling quite discouraged; I lost the lock on the original rate for refinancing my condo due to a series of delays (not my fault, really), and had to take a higher rate. Monthly savings will be minimal, but there's some comfort in knowing I will not have to deal with the current mortgage company.


After several discussions with a variety of XY friends, I've come to the conclusion that the problem with the air conditioning is indeed that of capacity. So I've called good ol' Sears and will have them around for an estimate on Friday. I dread it, and it annoys me. There's no reason a 6 year old HVAC unit should have to be replaced except the contractor for Overpriced Shoddy Construction Acres cut corners. But I refuse to spend another summer sweltering, so I guess I have to suck it up. Grrr.


The economic news is not good. I think Katerina will prove to be the tipping point for another recession. While major disasters tend to stimulate spending and hiring for recovery and reconstruction, the disruptions to energy product distribution is going to have a longer effect. Start squirelling away your acorns. I think it is going to be a difficult winter.

And to add to Finlaech's charitable pitch, think about donating to your local fuel fund when the winter comes. Some families are going to be hit very hard this year when the heating bills come in.

May the gods be kind us, every one. Where that isn't obvious, let's be kind to each other.

2:09 p.m. - 2005-08-30
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora