terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today I am a Screwup

Ah, yes, a workday which plays to all my weaknesses and leaves me feeling like a total screwup. The CEO has electronically yelled (quietly) at me because I didn't properly coordinate between a web and wire release this morning. An analyst found an error in a text I put out yesterday and told me today well after I could do anything about it. The new Asia bureau chief called at 7:20 a.m. and told me to contact the Department of Energy and find out about the release of oil from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve (their public affairs office doesn't open until 8:30 a.m.). My boss and I kept trying to edit the same file, with the result that errors corrected kept getting overwritten with the old material. Unknown persons calling at early hours and sounding surprised that an editor wasn't in yet. The CEO is upset that I sent out a notification e-mail to my standard list when I'd asked for guidance in paring it to paying customers weeks ago. Blah, blah, blah.

I have, of course, been sending out the suck up, apologetic e-mails. I can't say I wasn't at fault, and I do have the responsbility to see that at least parts of this work right. I just wish someone would remember that I told them that the system was vulnerable and that we ought to do something before problems occured. Perhaps I should change my name to Cassandra. I get listened to about as much. I wonder if she got as angry at the Trojans as I do at the company I work for? It does no good. Career counselor, here I come.


I did have a nice long conversation with an old friend of mine who lives out in New Mexico yesterday. Talking to her always reminds me that life can be better and that there are things which transcend the mundane. Indeed, she makes me feel like I transcend the mundane, at least at times.

12:05 p.m. - 2005-08-31
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora