terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Attack on the Credit Card

Ugh. No only did I screw up my Amazon.com order delivery address, it appears I have handed my personal information to someone unscrupulous.

I just read an e-mail from Amazon that says something looks weird in my security info, could I please confirm my account details? In itself it looks questionable. Until I can get home where I have all my information at my fingertips, there's not much I can do. I've gone in and changed my password and deleted out all my address and credit card info. Which is rather like the proverbial bolting of the barn door.

I've occasionally gotten a notice from "PayPal" about fraudulent activity on my account that turned out to be bogus and an attempt to get me to enter my account info and password on a pirate site.

I love the convenience of shopping on line. I hate the potential hazards to my security. Of course I live in an area where the apartment mailboxes are regularly raided to get personal data for fraud. It's not much different. And it is just as possible that some sales clerk will steal my credit card number.

I'm a shredding monster when it comes to my personal paper. Everything that has a name and/or address gets mangled before it goes out in the trash.

Anyway, I'm going to make some calls later just to make sure that everything is ok and this was an unsuccessful attack.

I hate feeling insecure, especially where debt may be involved.

6:41 a.m. - 2005-10-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora