terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Making Mistakes

I am an idiot. I placed two orders with Amazon.com and wasn't careful about which delivery address I used. The stuff went to my old place. Admittedly it is scarcely 1/2 mile from where I am now, but the current resident apparently believes that ownership is all since I've gotten no response to a note I sent. I may be wrong and he/she simply hasn't responded yet.

I'm mad at myself, not the other person. I'm a great believer in paying attention to details, and I failed spectacularly here.

I've gone back to my Amazon account and gotten rid of the outdated stuff. A slightly costly lesson in making sure my cyberinfo is straight. Grrr.


I look awful. My face is a blotchy, peeling mess and it it feels like I've got a bad sunburn. Ironic, really, since I'm trying to correct the bad sunburns of my youth.

I've got a major business meeting in New York next week. I can't go into a meeting with two CEOs looking like this, which means I have to stop the treatment in a day or two to recover enough to be presentable. Which means I have to start all over again when I get back. Grrr. Timing is everything, although I don't suppose I'll ever have two straight weeks when I don't care what I look like or who sees me.


I rather dread this weekend in spite of having some fun plans. Somewhere in there I have to get a 2-hour take home test and 6 hours worth of algebra homework done. 15 weeks, 6 of which are gone. It can't finish soon enough for me.


I am puzzling over people's desire for distinction lately. Like the guy who wants to be the first man to fly around the world over both poles, only it has been done before, but he'll be the first with some minor distinguishing characteristic. I remember watching a documentary about climbing Mt.Everest, and one of the climbers was saying she'd be the first Spanish woman to do so.

How important it it to us to claim our unique place in the world and perhaps make the history books? But who beside the doer and perhaps a few friends and relatives really cares about the accomplishment? Yet aren't we supposed to make our mark somehow?

I dunno. I think about my Mom and the fact that she is well liked and respected in her community, but when she goes, much of that will pass from the world as well. How many people leave a legacy that survives more than a few years?


My mother, by the way, is scaring me a bit. She's going full bore on getting her cataract fixed, having a flu shot and getting much more aggressive about following her cancer treatment. This is almost a complete reversal from her passivity last summer. I'm not sure if she's in the denial stage of death. This is not unwelcome, just out of character. Weird.

8:52 a.m. - 2005-10-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora