terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pelican vs. Laurel vs. Me

I was struck by a very basic difference between the Pelicans and the Laurels today, at least generally speaking.

Pelicans propose a name for the watch list, imply we are all idiots if we don't agree and take it as a given that the royalty will make the award.

Laurels bring up names in advance of when they think the person is ready, leave room for discussion, and at least make a nod to the polling process and the role of the Crown.

It is like dealing with a bunch of evangelical sects made of ones and twos. Nominally we are all SCA, but no sect can accept any dissention from its point of view, or feel anything but outrage if a disparity of opinion arises. There's no ability to see beyond the personal belief. It is a kind of righteousness that I find unfathomable.

I wish I felt more confident of contributing effectively within the Pelican forum, but as someone who likes to build consensus rather than hegemony, this is not exactly a welcoming space.


I have come into work this morning determined to do a purge of my files and project lists. I'm feeling lost and disconnected from my job.

This kind of action always helps me to cut through the clutter, both literal and metaphoric. I hope when today is done that I've got my focus and purpose back.

And it appears that next week I get to go to New York for a meeting with one of our sister companies about a project I've long held dear. Is there a sea change actually in the offing? Are my metatphors mixed?

7:09 a.m. - 2005-10-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora