terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Settling in with the Cold

The flannel sheets came out of the linen closet last night; it is now too chilly for plain ol' cotton sateen. The cats are discontent because the balcony is no longer accessible with all the doors closed. I've reset the thermostat for winter conditions.

I don't like this time of year. Even for one as fond of nesting in my nice private condo as I, I find it a little confining to close everything up and muffle myself in blankets and coats. I guess it is because I lose at least the option of freely moving about. I need to concentrate on the possibilities rather than the restrictions, otherwise I won't get through the next few months.


In three months I'll be 51. Last time at this year I was eagerly anticipating my 50th celebration. Although I've got a great trip to England planned for January, it isn't quite the same as a month off, a gourmet dinner among friends and a week in Florence. Still, in another year or so I'll get the vicarious pleasure of celebrating a major birthday with friends. A few of the young ladies of my acquaintance will turn 40 and the plan is to go for a long weekend to some luxurious spa or some such. That will be fun.


I'm fussing over whether to ask to teach at the February University. I'd like to, but I've been unreliable lately and hate to get on the schedule only to have to cancel again. However, Mom's doing ok right now and I think I would like to. So I'll ask my favorite chancellor and see what she says. And this one will be important to me. She's stepping down and another person whom I greatly respect is stepping up. It is important to be witness to other people's lives.


I'm at least feeling physically better. I had some antibotics left over from the Lyme disease scare. Although it is never really wise to take prescriptions without a doctor's consent, it seems to be working. Symptoms are clearing up and energy is returning. About time.

7:32 a.m. - 2005-10-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora