terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Give Blood as Long as You Can

I think today was the last time I donate blood. I'm just getting too old. It makes me feel nauseated for hours afterward, I can't seem to regulate my body temperature and even a single flight of stairs leaves me winded.

And I have grown to loathe the litany of questions they ask every flippin' time. I know they have to keep the blood supply safe, but could they find a less insulting and repetitive way to weed out the unsuitable?

I came to my blood donation habit years after most of my friends. For most of my adult life I was under the required weight, so it is isn't like I wasn't willing. When I got fat, I started giving. Then I started to travel and that put limits on my donations. So I'll never see a five gallon pin. This is a source of some disappointment to me.

Oh well, another reality of aging. Do your part while you can and then step aside and hope there's someone behind you to take up the slack.

3:18 p.m. - 2005-11-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora