terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three Whinges

What is it with Bushites and admitting you did something wrong and/or stupid? Cheney could have silenced the outcry days ago by getting in front of a microphone and saying, "I am very sorry for being the cause of this terrible accident to a valued friend. While this sort of hunting incident is not uncommon and relatively minor, I should have recognized that it took place among prominent people whose behavior is expected to meet high standards of public disclosure." Jeez. Why cannot people just admit to their mistakes as soon as they happen? Inevitably delay makes things worse. They should have enough experience of that by now. Oh wait. These guys don't make mistakes.


The silly trials of the well-fed.

Yesterday I noticed my dear old designer dress boots (now some six years old) had a leak in a place that could not be fixed. Drat. I like my Astro Boy boots.

However, nothing lasts forever. Still, I've got at least six more weeks of winter to deal with and one must dress appropriately for work no matter what the weather.

So I went forth into the world of depleted Winter boot inventories. I suppose were I less picky it would be easier. Nonetheless, it only took me four stores to find an acceptable pair 'o boots to see me through the last few weeks of cold. And hopefully carry me through next year.

But I looked at the old boots as they dropped into the trash can and could only think of how wasteful it was of so much still good leather. It is a pity I'm not handier. In Ye Olde Days I might have found a use for them.


Another plague of modern life has particularly been intruding itself on me lately. Those handy rolling briefcases have now moved from the "oh, that's neat" category of freshness to the "get that thing out of my way" category of ubiquity. It is really annoying to try to get around them in a crowd or on an escaltor, much less the aggravation of thinking there is a place to stand on a crowded train only to discover it is taken up by a mobile office.

7:41 a.m. - 2006-02-15
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora