terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Family Pictures

I spent the day yesterday with my mother looking through family pictures and trying not to breath cigarette smoke. Athough to be fair, she only had three or four while I was there. Still, I came home and threw everything I had worn in the laundry basket and me into the shower for a thorough cleaning.

My mother was actually very happy to be looking at the family archives and finally start sorting them out in preparation for distributing them to her children. She kept commenting what beautiful, happy children we were.

I can give her the essential truth of our beauty; we come from good stock on that count. I confess my main impression was "what a lot of hair we all have."

The happiness? I guess so. At least my siblings tell me stories of how much fun we had and what games we played. A favorite was "Rump-a-Bump" where one of us sat on a blanket at one end of a long hallway with two stairs in the center, and the other would run and drag the sibling over the bump.

But my first memories always seem to be of long gray stretches of waiting or the pains of parting or the pains of arriving at new places.

Oh well, at least it wasn't all bad, even if I'm more on the glass half-empty side of life.


I continue to watch the first season DVDs of Lost. It's losing me. I kind of like the island adventures, but the flashbacks are getting more tedious and don't seem to be adding much. I wonder if I'll bother renting season two?

OTOH, I shall soon be seeing Knitgeek and hopefully getting my next fix of a few more episodes of Battlestar Galactica. I saw something in the weekend entertainment section that tells me Laura is now gone. Or at least they are electing a new president. Anyway, if she is departed, I shall be sad because she's such a great character.


I am greatly annoyed this morning. My ISP connection on the main computer is suddenly not connecting. I got around to activating it on the laptop, so I know it isn't the modem. When I tried to reinstall the DSL software on the main computer it couldn't find the ethernet card. My best guess is that somehow I've jostled a wire loose or that the card itself is failing. Pooh. I guess I must seek out computer gurus and attack the problem shortly. At least I can limp through this weekend.

8:47 a.m. - 2006-02-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora