terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sounds Like Instructions on a Shampoo Bottle

Download. Install. Reboot. Repeat. Sounds like instructions on a shampoo bottle.

This was my day yesterday. The laptop had been delivering various dire messages about imminent corruption of my data and other consequences if I didn't go to the indicated website and download the fixes.

I was skeptical, because I've seen this virus related stuff before.

So I downloaded anti-virus software and a spyware buster as well. I ran them. Nothing was detected, but the messages stopped. Hmmm. Is this like giving the evil eye to a misbehaving child to make him/her stop?

I hadn't been able to view my on-line college stuff either, and I couldn't seem to get the Java to upgrade, so I opted to download the latest IE. That worked.

Then the real system messages started about needing to upgrade certain Microsoft stuff. Sigh. Back to the litany.

All seems to be well now on the laptop.

Next the desktop needs to have its ISP problems fixed. I think I've narrowed it down to the ethernet connection (the line and modem work fine on the laptop).

Oh, well.


Knitgeek and I had a nice trip up to the Walters on Sunday to view the display of illuminated legal texts. Against all my fears, they did have one actual legal document, a papal bull announcing an indulgence. Woohoo!

I snuck a picture via my PDA camera while pretending to make an entry. It isn't fabulous, but I'm hoping to clean it up a bit for my proposed PowerPoint slide show. Should get to work on that, shouldn't I?


Statistics is proving both better and worse than expected. The first few chapters were easy, and the workload from week-to-week isn't bad, but I definitely have missed a few essentials in the last assignment. My brain just doesn't want to go there. However, I'm passing and that is all that matters.


I'm actually doing some stuff to get ready for KASF. I've started actual new garb (gasp!) and ordered some more tokens to give out. I don't plan to do any judging or exhibiting (unless I get the slide show going, see above). But I would like to at least be nominally supportive of the arts. And it will be nice to hang out and geek.

7:16 a.m. - 2006-02-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora