terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It is Good

The two-day migraine is finally fading. I'm not really surprised I got one after the stressful trip. I was dreading coming into work yesterday because I was only minimally functional, but as luck had it two people decided to work from home and my boss (a prime noise generator) was off.

I stumbled through the day and went home to veg in front of the tube until bedtime. The cat was happy I was in one place and made up some of her attention deficit from the past week.

Today will be worse, but I'm in better shape, so it should cancel out.


The thing I keep coming back to from my rescue mission to Costa Rica was how happy my father was to see me.

My favorite sister and Dad's first line caregiver was down there a couple of days before I arrived. She said he started to improve the minute I walked through the door. Very scary.

I wasn't a favorite of either parent as a child. Not neglected or anything, just clearly down in the pecking order of parental affections.

But now I think I'm the offspring in whom my father sees the most of himself, and I do believe he's uncommonly proud of me and my accomplishments. He has the satisfaction of having not only reconciled with one of his estranged children, but also of knowing whatever went wrong didn't prevent me from growing up and accepting him as a grown up, flaws and all. It is good.

6:54 a.m. - 2006-08-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora