terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TMI on Aging Female Stuff - You are Warned

As I have said before, menopause sucks.

About three weeks ago, on the instructions of my esteemed nurse practitioner, I stopped the hormone thearpy she'd prescribed for the last few years in order to control my ovarian cysts. She said I'd probably head right into menopause.

She was right.

My hair is coming out in handfuls when I wash it.

My appetite has gone through the roof and I'm constantly hungry. I've put on 5 pounds in three weeks.

My skin is drying out.

I am lethargic beyond belief. In spite of knowing I have assignments for two classes this week, I have done little or nothing to get the work done. I can't make it through an entire workout video. Worse, I don't care. Computer games rule my time.

I can't think. I feel like a 10-year old in coping skills. I'm unusually whiny and peevish. My brain is all over the place emotionally.

Argh.

The only upside is that I have actually been sleeping better. Which is nigh miraculous considering my chronic insomnia, but I still have the dark rings under my eyes. I look like the dough boy, only I dress better and I don't have an annoying giggle. Then again I'm not a cultural icon.

I don't know whether to beg for hormone replacement therapy when I see her tomorrow or just tough it out.

I'll probably just ask for a higher does of the antidepressants I started taking last month. I'm on a minimal dosage right now, and Wellbutrin does help control appeitite.

I pray there is the promised post-menopausal zest on the other side of this, 'cause I'm not loving life right now.

Time to go abuse my food allergies. Maybe I'll go get my hair cut short later today. It won't look so bad when it heads down the drain.

7:39 a.m. - 2006-09-21
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora