terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mortality is Beating Me Over the Head

Mortality seems to be beating me over the head lately.

The wife of my dying acquaintance has asked that we send her any stories we can remember about her husband so she can preserve them for their children.

A fine idea. The problem is that I've known the man for over 25 years and I can't think of one I'd like to share. He was often kind and generous, had a great good humor, was not lacking in intelligence or wit or sincerity, was an attentive and loving father. Yet everything I can think of is somehow trivial or silly.

In spite of his many good qualities, I can't think of anything substantial or lasting that he accomplished. There was a lot of show and bluster, but in the end, what did he do?

I'll mull over it longer, and hopefully someone or something will jog my memory and better self, and I'll have something to add to his memory book.

I wonder how the sum of my existence will be judged? More kindly than I do others, I hope.


Hollow bones are reeds
Flutes for the gods someday
My soul is music

Continuing TMI on female stuff here.

I am in fact not in menopause. I could just scream. My symptoms were entirely attributable to withdrawing hormone therapy for my ovarian cysts. I am restarting today, and should feel more normal soon. This is good, I suppose. But when, oh when, will the suspense be over? I am so done with this.

Amongst the tests I had was a bone scan. I'm losing bone mass faster than is usual at my age in spite of reasonable calcium consumption. I get to take some sort of medication that's supposed to help.

My bad cholesterol level is also not improving, so we're trying a dual action drug.

I've always hated the thought of living on pills like a frail old lady, and here I am.

11:46 a.m. - 2006-09-26
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora