terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mulling government/religious holidays

Happy Easter! How I loathe religious holidays. It is not that I think we shouldn't have time in our lives for spiritual observance and renewal, but to have specific days imposed by the dominant faith really, really bothers me. Easter is less bad because the government does not "officially" observe it the way they do Christmas. Semi-secular holidays like Thanksgiving aren't so bad because it is about the establishment of religious choice.

I *like* my days off, I just wish the government and businesses would say we get X number of days off a year to support our religious practices (or not) and take them when we want rather than adhering to the Christian calendar.

There are too many problems associated in the world related to religion; I wish we place faith more into private life and less into political. We *need* strong moral and ethical grounds on how we treat one another. We *don't* need to be pounding on each other to ensure we all are *exactly* the same in those beliefs.

But then, when I take the Belief-O-Matic test, I'm pretty clearly a Buddhist.

7:37 a.m. - 2004-04-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora