terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mom is moving

Tomorrow morning I will be going to my mother's house to help her move. She's lived there for very nearly 40 years. I wonder what it can mean to a person to be rooted in one place for so long.

I've done enough moving in my life that even after nearly 10 years in this place I still feel a bit like it is not really permanent.

Perhaps there is a fundamental difference between my mother's generation and mine in how we view property and community?

Even though this is the house where I spent most of my teen's and a good bit of my twenty's, I have no real sense of regret that it is leaving my family. The place I always think of as the family home was in a different town and we only lived there a year or two, but it was full of delights for children. There were front and back staircases, and a servant's room in the attic (but no servant), and a glassed-in side porch where we kept our bikes. It had character. Whereas the current house is merely a suburan cookie-cutter structure, with very, very few happy memories attached.

7:46 p.m. - 2004-04-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora