terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring and the Neo-punk

I love Spring. I love the greens and the flower scents (especially lilacs!) and the longer days and the milder air, and not having to wear a heavy coat. I do not love the yellow-grey film of pollen on my car or the earthworms on the sidewalk when it rains, but these are a small price to pay.

The weather, of course, is a bit changable. Earlier this week the temperature dropped near 40 degress overnight -- a little shiver-making when I went to the subway station. I go to work beastly early (my choice to fit my schedule while doing night school). So there I was on the station platform at 6:00 a.m. huddled in my snazzy new black raincoat and elegant black leather gloves with the mop on my head that passes for hair not yet tamed, and yawning fit to make my face crack behind the newspaper I was trying to read.

Lo! Up wanders a thirtyish fellow dressed in what I would describe as neo-punk making loud, obnoxious comments about the weather and his dissatisfaction with it, most of which I would prefer to forget for their inanity or general crudeness. I rather longed to ask him whether he was intoxicated, insane or just plain rude and attention-seeking. Instead, I just hid behind the paper and tried to ignore him. Eventually he wandered off to annoy others.

But it was another one of those situations where I wonder how it is that some people end up behaving like anti-social pigs and somehow expect to make connections with others? What did he really want? Approval? Fellowship? Negative reinforcement? And why?

10:39 a.m. - 2004-05-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora