terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fear of unemployment

I've been working on a B.S. in Information Management for over two years now, and academic fatigue has really set in. I'm on my last computer class (but not last class) and I find it nearly impossible to give a damn about whether I do the work or not. Good thing I already have a B.A., because otherwise I'd never get through.

I'm feeling a little more sympathetic than I used to for people who never finished their degree. I know a person who needed one class to finish, but could never find the time/money/energy to do it. But then he was sufficiently successful and had the work experience that a degree wasn't a make-or-break.

For me, I could never get ahead at work until I finished my degree in English, then things got much, much better. But now I'm so specialized as to be nearly unemployable, so it is off to school again in hopes that the future holds better things.

Fear of unemployment is a great motivator. Now if only it was *inspiring*.

9:38 a.m. - 2004-05-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora