terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Faded Friendships

I'm feeling terribly guilty about not returning the telephone call of someone I've known for 25 years.

I've drifted pretty far away from him in almost all respects of life. I just don't feel any connection. For a few years back in my late 20's where we hung out together a lot. It was never more than friendship (on my part). And it is a time in my life I don't cling to. It was fun, but it certainly isn't worth revisiting constantly. But for him it was some of his best times, and I was part of that. I don't think he's changed his image of me in 20 years, and I am *so* different now.

Anyway, we've kept in touch because we have a common social circle. Even that isn't enough to make me feel more than a sort of disinterested interest.

How do you respectfully acknowledge someone's place in your life and pay them due regard, and give consideration to their feelings without compromising your own?

8:28 p.m. - 2004-05-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora