terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Near Perfect Sunday

Yesterday had an air of perfection to it. I headed downtown to collect a few boxes from the office. This part was a failure because there were no parking spaces near the building and I'm too cheap to pay $10.00 in parking fees to collect three sturdy boxes. I can't say I was too unhappy since carting lumps of cardboard around isn't exactly my idea of fun.

But then I went over the the Shakespeare Theater and found a parking place within a block of the entrance. Having some spare time, I went down to the Smithsonian, and Lo! the gem and mineral collection (my favorite) had relatively few visitors and I browsed at my own contented pace.

Then up the street to my beloved Bistro D'Oc for the world's best eggs benedict and a cheesecake to die for.

Afterwards, a short walk over the the Lansburgh, and a wonderful production of Pericles; pure theatrical spectacle with the cadence of Shakespeare. Bliss.

And to top off a lovely day, I got to help dear friends decorate their Christmas tree.

What more could one ask of a Sunday in December? Well, knowing whether I'd won the bidding on the greatly desired condo would have been nice, but that has to wait for a bit longer. The most perfect moments need to have a slight tint of trouble, otherwise they would have less savor. One needs the contrast to appreciate the view.

7:22 a.m. - 2004-12-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora