terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quelle Surpise! I am Now a Pelican.

Well, well, well. Today I am a Pelican (which is a big deal in the SCA for my non-SCA readers), and therefore an examplar of what it means to serve in that organization. And I believe the only reason I am a Pelican is because I behaved badly last summer, which is not one of the good reasons one is given status as an exemplar in the SCA. I feel vaguely guilty, but the irony of it also lingers in my mind.

Anyway, my three best friends knew I was unhappy about a certain situation, and took it upon themselves to speak up for me, and Lo! yesterday I was called into court and had the nicest little peerage ceremony I could ever want. Most of my best beloved people were near, I got the coolest indenture done in proper period legal style (and if I hadn't already packed my digital camera I would post a picture of it), my medallion came from some people whom I see infrequently, but who have definitely been part of my growth in the SCA, other old friends sang for me (a processional written for my first peerage nearly 12 years ago!), and it was all sweet and warm and spontaneous, and just as I would want it.

In many ways this was so much better than my first peerage; I guess it is a function of being older and more confident in my acheievements, and also that this felt very much like a gift from my friends, not just something I had struggled to win. All the congratulations I got over the course of the day didn't feel pro forma. I really felt I was part of the order and very welcome to them. I guess I'm a big dog now. ;-)

As a footnote, the theme in many of the congratulations was that now I had to take up heavy weapons fighting and get a knighthood, like some people really wanted me to go down that path. Not a few of these were knights of my acquaintance. It is a nice fantasy, but I have my two years experience as a spearwoman to chase that notion out of my head. Been there, tried that, and failed miserably. I may have a warrior spirit, and warrior learning, but the body won't cooperate on that one!

Now I have to go write a lot of thank you notes, because I owe a number of people my sincere gratitude for knowing me well enough to make it all right on many levels.

9:21 a.m. - 2005-01-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora