terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Florence Day 1

A relatively pain-free flight to Florence.

Air France is pretty good on the customer service front, although transfering planes at Charles de Gaulle airport is a nightmare. I had to disembark, take a shuttle to the terminal, go through immigration, go upstairs, back through security, downstairs, and than take a shuttle back to the same tarmac where I got off in the first place. Even Dulles looks good by comparison.

So far cash cards are working, the hotel let me check in early, and I've got my immediate bearings and am exploring the local shops. My first tourist act was to tour the Medici tombs. I have discovered that I really don't care for Michelangelo. All his women look like men with breasts pasted on. I recognize the genuis, just don't warm to it. But seeing the grave of Eleanor of Toledo was a fine moment, and the elaborate chapel was my first take of vertigo to come, if everywhere else favors soaring domes and vaulted ceilings to this extent. I wonder at the mentality that built tombs as an expression of power. They are quite beautiful, but I must have been a Puritan in a prior life, because the sancitity kind of gets lost in the granduer.

I confess to feeling quite overwhelmed earlier in the day and wondering if I could manage a whole week here. A little food and a nap have somewhat restored me to myself. Florence is gonna be awesome.

2:52 p.m. - 2005-02-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora