terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Acquiring a Pink Baboon Butt

I am contemplating acquiring a pink baboon butt, metaphorically speaking.

I'm in the process of winding myself up to seriously look for another job. I loathe the whole process, but I really think it is time. I remember the last bout of unemployment before and after my return from Boston, and it as a painful period of uncertainty and rejection, and then I had much lower expectations and needs. I don't do networking, I don't fit the mold of most people's ideas about professional women and I really have no clue on how to seek a high level job. I'm a hopeless geek.

So I'm considering adopting some camoflauge to try to fit in with the tribe of high power baboons and fool them into accepting me. I'll need to find a good resume service in order to get the paper part right, and then a placement service to help me. But then there's me with the flyaway hair, aversion to makeup and comforatable (read schlumpy) style of dress.

My latest stategy is acquiring a pair of diamond stud earrings. Every meeting I've been in where a female power player was present, she may or may not have been dressed in a suit, but she did have the understated, but obviously expensive jewelry. This usually included the diamond studs.

So now that I still have a little cash leftover from the condo sale and huge bonus (profound feeling of gratitude here) and buoyed that confidence, I went to a couple of jewelry stores yesterday. Well, it put me in my place.

Anything of decent quality over a carat total weight is well over $2,500, and more like $3,000. Erg. I guess there is a reason honkin' big diamonds are a symbol of success.

Allow me to express my resentment of the De Beers monopoly. At least there's no monopoly on power suits.

6:26 a.m. - 2005-02-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora