terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lorenzaccio

Yesterday I went to the Lansburgh and saw "Lorenzaccio." What could have been a whine-fest or bloated with self-righteousness turned out to be a very good meditation on the baser and better nature of humanity and how events call it out. I found it truly engrossing. Great acting, great costumes, good sets. Pretty much what you expect from the Washington Shakespeare company. I sort of regret I didn't see it before I went to Florence, it might have put it in better context.

The play was preceded by a visit to the office, where I discovered that my absense appears to be generally unfelt. Is this a good or bad thing? I had asked for certain things to be done while I was away, and by and large they were not. It will make no difference to anyone's work but mine, which probably explains it. I'm angry about it, but what good does that do? I can't reprimand anyone for neglect and the damage is done.

My temper was somewhat mollified when I went to Bistro D'Oc for my pre-theater lunch of Eggs Benedict and pommes frittes. Num. And since I held my birthday party there, the staff now clearly remembers me and some of my preferences (like automatically asking me if I want iced tea instead of wine). The maitre d' even winked at me when I left. It pays to patronize regularly, although holding a large dinner party doesn't hurt. I wish I could do it every year, it was so much fun.

And I wish I could get past my jet lag. I should have by now, but I'm reaching 7:30 or 8:00 in the evening and just collapsing. I have to go out a couple of evenings and force myself to stay up at least until 9:00. Damn I live an exciting life.

5:26 a.m. - 2005-02-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora