terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remedial Math, No!

I am trying very hard not to think about it; I will require not one, but two semesters of remedial math in order to qualify for the college alegbra and statistics courses I need to finish my B.S. in Information Management. Even worse, they cannot be taken on-line, but require a weekly classroom visit.

The math anxiety that resides in my reptile brain is screaming in terror at the prospect of four semesters of my least favorite subject. The lack of control in my learning experience is not helping, either.

Before I can think about it, I have gone ahead and registered for the first class this summer. I probably still have to take a placement test to prove my current miserable amount of knowledge makes me worthy to study the subject.

I try to comfort myself with lies that I am older now and it will be better this time around. I know I have supportive friends to call upon when I need help. But the prospect of 15 months of math misery overwhelms any efforts at sane rationalization.

I will do this because I must, and I will succeed, because I must, but I am not going to like it one bit, all the while hoping I'm dead wrong and it will all be ok.

As a footnote on my Florentine adventure; I am so glad I went before the horrible incident of the shooting of the Italian secret service agent and the reporter. I don't blame the Italians for being upset, and the circumstances of recovery of a hostage make it particularly tragic. But I have to say the Il Manifesto reporter's comments about it being deliberate really anger me. I've read enough communist literature to know that there is a tendency for writers of that ilk to assert a viewpoint without evidence to back it up, while maintaining its truth. The circumstances are bad enough without being inflammatory and self-righteous. Grrr. I feel for her plight, but she's cut a lot into my sympathy.

10:20 a.m. - 2005-03-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora