terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Painting and Easter Dinner

I'm not a big holiday celebration person (what a surprise), so had mostly failed to notice that my usual dinner gig for Easter hadn't materialized until the host called on Friday with apologies for tardiness and an invitation. In fact I had made some other plans for the day in that I imposed myself on an artist friend for a lesson in painting. As it was, I was able to do both and the day passed very pleasantly.

1. I'm trying very hard to curb my enthusiasm, but I'm really jazzed at the notion of actually painting something to hang in my living room. Dear Dan was very patient and coached me through the basics. We had a great conversation about art and what makes an abstract great vs. refrigerator art. Today I hope to have an opportunity to raid Utrecht for paint and a few other supplies. I won't have time to start for a bit yet, but I want to be ready when I do.

2. Easter with the usual crowd might be boring except that my friends are among the least boring people I know. Which I suppose is true of everyone's perception of their friends. It is just that I think mine really are interesting people. ;-) Of course the best part is feeling that in some way the day would be diminished for them if I were not there. Pure vanity. But I've known these people for 20 years now and we are all so much in the fabric of each others' lives. In the end I would be diminished if I didn't attend.

And a footnote on the birthday that won't end: Dan gave me a framed sketch of me that he'd done several years ago that I had much admired. It was incredibly generous. And Igor and Fevronia gave me a book that promises to be excellent reading. I am blessed.

11:36 a.m. - 2005-03-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora