terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shopping for a Burial Plot

It is kind of weird, but in what I hope is an act of practicality rather than morbidity, I'm shopping for a burial plot for my someday cremains. (The gods grant it won't be needed for many years.)

I know where I want my ashes to lie. It is called Green Mount Cemetery up in West Chester, PA. A number of my relatives are or will be there. As such places go, it is rather nice with about a 150 year history, some interesting monuments, and a peaceful air. It still has a few deer that come grazing even though it is no longer on the outskirts of town; some trace of the beauty of rural Chester County lingers.

In part I suppose this is prompted by all the Terri Shaivo stuff, but it is also me thinking about investments and where would be a good place to put a little extra cash and real estate values, etc. Not that this is exactly the kind that pays dividends. ;-)

And in a strange way, I'm doing it for my mother. She's made her funeral arrangements and it includes her urn being placed there next to my departed brother. I think I'd like her to know before she goes that another of her children won't be far away. Which is kind of silly as I don't really believe the dead care, but there's comfort in the symbolism for the living. Besides, if I don't take care of it, who will?

2:59 p.m. - 2005-03-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora