terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stock Options. Whopee.

Another unpleasant morning in the office. Although why it should be unpleasant is rather ironic.

We all just got awarded some stock options, which in itself is not something to complain about. However, it has been made clear to us that we are getting our raises this year in company equity. Which really stinks since it has been four years since any of us got a raise and dealing with the uncertainties of a young company whose stock is traded on the Tokyo Mothers Board presents many issues in terms of stock value and then how to handle the taxes next year.

I think all of us might have prefered a decent cash bonus, but it is cheaper for a company to give out stock and let us take our chances.

It is all very complicated and I hate complications. And now we shall have a couple of weeks of people coyly trying to find out if and for what the options were sold by others, and quietly (or not) crowing about how well they did. I loathe that sort of competition, but when you work in a male-dominated office, it happens.

No one intends to be obnoxious (I hope), but the metaphoric chest-pounding and oneupsmanship gets tiresome fast. Oh well. BTW, we aren't talking about big bucks here.

And on the matter of Project Cat Integration: so far it is a total failure. I still can't do more than persuade Madame Mao down to the bottom of the stairs. She continues to wail in the night for succor from the mild-mannered Gray Intruder. I wish I had a cat-cam at home so I could monitor them during the day. It seems to me the litter box contents are more than could be generated by one 7.5 pound feline by herself, but I can't know for sure. I'm trying removing a few of MM's comforts from the loft to see if that helps get her downstairs. But this is really wearing on my patience. No doubt they feel the same.

11:14 a.m. - 2005-05-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora