terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Of Course I Know Better than the Speaker

Last evening was the first session of "Anatomy of Murder," a lecture series on how murder mysteries are constructed. I left about an hour into a an hour-and-a-half session.

The subject is not uninteresting to someone who has aspirations to be a writer (not of mysteries, but to some extent all decent novels are a mystery). But our speaker spent entirely too much time talking about herself and not enough about the writing process in practice or theory. I suppose I would have had more patience had she not been a somewhat nervous speaker (lots of um's and ah's) with a bit of New York accent and a slightly strident tone.

I'll go back next week, but if she hasn't moved on I refuse to waste any more time on it. No doubt in my judgmental haste I missed the most important point of the evening and will regret it to the end of my days. Perhaps my problem is that after the truly marvelous experience on Saturday that anything else looks flat in comparison.

11:09 a.m. - 2005-05-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora