terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Fine and Life is Good

This morning I actually committed to and attended my T'ai Chi class. After four months of planning to go and failing, that was a Good Thing (TM). It hasn't really changed, although I don't know why I had some expectation it would be different. Maybe because I feel a little different? Anyway, it is still a strange mix of people of skill levels and desire to learn, and we've still got the rather touchy-feely format. I needed it though; my form deteriorates when I don't get at least some practice with others and some corrections.

I had to go to the post office before class, and the P.O. is in the same vicinity as the community center where class is held, so it was all very convenient. Good Old Greenbelt is hosting a "Green Man Festival" today and I was reminded of why I like to live here.

I dropped in at the convenience store to get a cuppa tea before class, and its denisons are a bunch of overweight retirees who step outside for a smoke or sit inside at the folding table and chairs drinking cheap coffee and watching the keno machine. Outside there were a bunch of aging hippies and folkies setting up small stages and craft booths for the festival. Watching the show as a few teenagers who dressed rather neo-punk.

The point being that Greenbelt is an actual town with its own strange personality where people seem to manage to get along just fine even though on the surface they have little in common. People live here, not just commute to where their lives otherwise focused. I many not participate in it too much, but I like it and I'm glad I didn't leave it behind when I decided it was time for a new place. And to think just yesterday I was envying a co-worker who moved out to Grosvenor so she could walk to the Metro station. What is there that compares to here?

I'm having a moment of "I'm doing just fine and life is good."

10:09 a.m. - 2005-05-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora