terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wishing Atlantia Would Be Split

A number of things have gotten me thinking about my participation in the SCA or lack thereof.

First, there was a huge discussion on one of the peerage lists about maintaining old traditions like having the senior peer salute the Crown during a feast, or remembering to bow to the various pointy hats.

Second, there is my puzzling reluctance to write up my class notes for the all too imminent University session in spite of the fact that it is a subject dear to my heart.

Third, there have been a couple of pollings where knew very nearly no one on the list and had to rely on the opinions of others to advise the Crown.

Fourth, I've been rather distrurbed by some of the actions being taken to keep Atlantia's fiscal condition in order. Not being involved in the matter I am hesitant to criticize, especially since it is my belief that they are trying to be prudent and keep our books legal.

At the root of it all I think the problem is that the kingdom is just plain too large anymore.

When you regularly have over 150 people at a feast, the senior peer may not be obvious the way it used to be.

Lack of respect to the Crown and Barons may simply be that the field of pointy hats is now so numerous that it is often difficult to distinguish when a reverance is needed. (And just how often to do need to acknowledge the Crown anyway when you have passed them 6 times at the event already?)

If the finances have become so complicated and need so much beauracracy to properly oversee them, surely we are taxing the pool of available and competent volunteers? If the financial demands on the kingdom are so great are we asking too much of people who have to fund it?

If I look hard enough, it may well be that I don't want to teach because I don't think there is an audience for my small contribution to the study of chivalry? The monolith of the knights in Atlantia doesn't know me anymore and I doubt would welcome my academic approach to knighthood. There are still a few friendly faces out there, but any wider reputation I may have had as a teacher has been swallowed up as the kingdom has grown and changed. As have the many people on the various watch lists. I don't know them and I can't see much chance that I ever will without a herculean effort on my part.

Then there's the matter of having gotten older and more involved in other aspects of life, my ability to travel has shrunk. As I've achieved my goals in the SCA a lot of my inspiration has departed as well. Resting upon one's laurels does not contribute to a vibrant kingdom.

Anyway, I rather wish there would be a movement to split the kingdom. I have a feeling that in this case smaller would be better. And not just for me. Oh well. Short of posting a manifesto on the Merry Rose, my feelings won't be relieved.

10:59 a.m. - 2005-05-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora