terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tired and Unfocused

I just ordered a bunch of pergamanata. Does this mean I am thinking of doing some illuminations? Perhaps. All that abstract painting needs balance from some nice concrete images?


Last night was a terrible night for sleep. This insomnia sees to be building. Little wonder I'm getting crap done. I can barely concentrate during the day, slog home and tend to the cats and stay awake long enough to reach bedtime. I'm not liking this one bit, and I'm guessing that the real answer lies in more physical activity during the day.


I have to wonder if my general weariness is feeding into my sense of unease with the world. I read through the newspaper this morning and all I could think was how thin the veneer of civilization lies over the human psyche.

I find myself quite afraid for the fate of the world when a high school girl can get surrounded and groped in a classroom during school hours so near the nation's capital, which is consistent with the horrible human rights report from Amnesty International about the victimization of women around the globe. This is not to speak of the various political protests that are being quashed with physical and mental brutality, and I do not exclude the U.S.

What is it about power that makes people so awful to one another? The imposition of one's will and the twisting of another human life must give some sort of sick satisfaction, but how has it ever ultimately improved anything for anyone?

11:00 a.m. - 2005-05-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora