terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, At Least The Condo Is Clean

Having become overwhlemed by cat hair, I took to cleaning yesterday afternoon for about four solid hours.

My beautiful Paddywhack is a short hair, but she is a shedder to beat Madame Mao by far. I hadn't realized how bad it was until the newish vacuum cleaner choked and I replaced the bag. After massive amounts of vacuuming following application of the pet hair/pet odor remover powder, I attacked the upholstery with a lint roller. Many, many adhesive sheets later I turned to the dusting. After that it was bathroom cleaning and kitchen floor scrubbing.

I don't much enjoy housework, but no one else is going to do it and the condo looks brighter to me today. This was actually the first major cleaning session since I moved in and I feel rather more back on track. In fact, a mental inventory tells me I'm done, I'm moved in, I'm settled. Yesterday I did a bit of home shopping and got a few of the final decorator touches. Now I can't think of a single thing to do. Actually, I can, but it is nothing of any importance whatsoever (I want to replace the perfectly functional and unobjectionable light fixture in the hallway).

And now I'm out of excuses for not doing the stuff I should be doing. Like my class notes for University next weekend? Ohmigod. I'm so mortified. I've been fussing (to myself) at other people about taking care of their business, but what do I do?

I can partially excuse my procrastination because I was struggling with one of the uberbosses in New York this week about something he wants to do that isn't the best solution to a product idea he wants to implement. It took a couple of rather strident e-mails, but I think I got the message through about better alternatives. I have no doubt he will come back and tell me to do things the way they had originally proposed. But at least for once I think I was heard. Not regarded, but heard. Finlaech's Plan B is sounding better and better to me.

We're supposed to be getting raises in July after three years of salary freezes. Prior to that we are supposed to have a fresh review on file. I have no idea if there is a relationship between the review and how much you get or not because so far any stock bonuses have all been for the same number of shares. Anyway, I've been trying to come up with a mental list of my accomplishments to encourage them to give me a nice fat increase, but in fairness I have to say my attitude and work output haven't been what they should. How do you measure creativity vs. productivity?

7:10 a.m. - 2005-05-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora