terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home after Atlantian University

This past weekend had a few adventures, great and small. Mostly small.

Friday morning I managed to lock myself out of the condo security door. For some reason the keypad where you can enter your code wasn't working. I took out the trash, then found myself staring at a door that wouldn't open. Argh! Panic! I have a plane to catch in a few hours, no cell phone to call for help, and it is mid-morning Friday when normal people are at work. The gods intervened in the form of a retired neighbor who did not have a key to the stairwell, but did have a magnetic card that worked. My ten minute drama was over. It was quite enough. I will never, never, never leave the house without a full set of keys in my pocket ever again.

I was then able to get out and about on my errands. I am now apparently known as the tall-decaf-latte-with-skim-woman to the local barrista, because I walked into the Starbucks, placed my order, and instantly my coffee was in front of me. I am vaguely discomfited to be so predictable, and vaguely pleased to be so well served.

The trip down to University was not at all bad. Let me recommend Independence Air if you need a cheap flight. They were pretty much on time, and the service was quite good. There were no problems with the rental car and I found the hotel with little difficulty.

Since I am now on the high side of 50 and an AARP member, I'd taken advantage of a travel discount. It was vastly amusing to have the hotel clerk be a bit odd on my having such a discount (if you are expecting an elderly person, a 50-year old doesn't look that old). Also, they gave me the handicap room (I'd guess because of my presumed decrepitude).

University was in the middle of nothing. I don't think there was a McDonalds closer than 10 miles away. However, the host group had their act together, things ran well, the signage was good, the classroom facilities were adequate, and they arranged for a right tasty lunch courtesy of Gracie and Robear. They even made real iced tean, not the usual stuff from a mix. Bliss! And the drive out there was truly pleasant with little traffic and lots of scenary. My class, in spite of much anxiety, went very well. It was the most satisfactory teaching experience I've had in ages, and reassures me I'm not useless in that regard. I may think about teaching again in the fall. Perhaps the anchorites class notes will get dusted off.

It was a smaller University than most of the recent ones, and on that basis, in many ways was more enjoyable. The registration table was not insane, people were generally more cheerful and had fewer questions, we could find the people we needed to talk to, etc., etc. I'm really thinking more and more that smaller is better when it comes to the SCA.

Anyway, the worst part of the trip home was that somewhere between University and the hotel I lost all my travel papers, including the car rental agreement. Since I returned the car intact with keys, I assume Avis will forgive me (there was no attendant at the airport at 5:00 a.m. when I arrived so I had to do the night drop off). There were a few flight delays due to weather, but again I found Independence Air quite pleasant.

Home was intact, the kitties were happy to see me, and appear to have reached a truce. There's no friendliness, but they are interacting a bit, i.e. they don't automatically attack each other if they happen to be on the same piece of furniture.

I managed to stay awake during the day and have a half decent night's sleep. However, I realized that I'm starting to have math nightmares. This is going to be a long semester.

8:51 a.m. - 2005-06-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora