terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No A/C, but Much Pride

With good advice and a bit of coaching (thanks Thjora and Eldred) I managed to change the thermostat in the condo. I have no idea if I did it right given that I still have no A/C, but for the moment my sense of accomplishment is strong. And I thought I was proud of myself back in January when I figured out how to replace a toilet seat, but that was nothing in comparison. ;-)

Of course the new unit's profile is different from the old one, so a bit of patching and painting is required, but no big deal. However, I am going to have to find an afternoon next week that the A/C service people can come out to my place. I used to live in a house without A/C and did just fine over the summer, but I am now an aged wuss and resent the loss of my comforts.

This is being added a bit later in the morning; I had one of my flashes of "it can't hurt to ask," so I called my HVAC company and got an appointment for Friday afternoon. I realized I would have a couple of hours tomorrow and thought that maybe ... And Lo! It all works out if you take positive action. Must remember that more often.

Which may also apply to a letter I found upon my doorstep this morning calling for the outster of the current condo board for being financially clueless and the current condo management company for being incompetent. I really must go to the monthly meetings, but in the mean time I guess I'll contact the task force named on the letter and try to get a little of the lowdown. Or it may prove to be an earful. Sigh. I just want to live in peace and anonymity.


I finished my first take home algebra test last night. Had it not been a take home with the answers in the solutions book to double check, I would have failed. Yet when I reviewed I found a number of careless errors that no doubt resulted from the math panic in my brain. Still, there were also a couple of places where I got the right answer but stated it a little differently from the book. I left those in place because the prof has said he wants to see our work. We'll see how it likes it.

6:49 a.m. - 2005-06-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora