terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grrr at Countrywide Loans

I was unwisely actively rude and obnoxious to someone this morning, as if it is ever a wise thing to do.

To recap, the woman to whom my mortgage refinance was assigned is out sick and has been for some days. So another woman sent me the loan package after I finally managed to track down the processor. The "good faith" estimate was over twice what had originally been quoted.

One would think this was a reasonable thing to question and ask for clarification.

This morning I finally got in touch with the second woman to whom my loan has been reassigned. When I mentioned the two phone messages I left on Wednesday and Thursday, she brushed them aside as if it was all completely new to her. Her attitude was, just sign the papers and send them in and we'll get it sorted out at settlement. Like I'm supposed to show up with a cashiers check for over $7,100 in the hope that someone will pay attention to my concerns at the last minute? And besides, she said, this had all been disclosed to me already. Really, then why was I so taken aback by the amount?

She then gave me a line about how the system was down and she couldn't do anything, but she'd do me the huge favor of running the numbers through a couple of different settlment calculators and both came up with lower numbers, but nothing similar to another.

I didn't mince words and told her I felt they were either incompetent or dishonest and while I didn't know which was which, I wasn't happy in either case.

In theory she is supposed to fax me an updated "good faith" estimate today (as soon as the system is back up). So far it hasn't shown.

I am mightily displeased and my stomach is hurting in spite of mega doses of acid reducer and stomach lining soother.

The problem is that I don't know whether to tell them to stuff it or not. I'm probably liable for a certain number of fees (like the apparaisal fee and credit check) which is no small amount. But I've got a feeling that disaster is impending. Is it merely temper and resentment? Have I just been experiencing an unfortunate series of events associated with my paperwork being shuffled off to someone already sufficiently burdened by their own workload and shouldn't blame the poor creature? Dunno. But I am really, really, really angry. And I hate feeling that way.

Ah well, give it until the end of my work day and then deal with it Monday.

And the day started off with a nice little surprise. For a change someone else saw that the in box of data releases to be filed was full and took care of it. I don't ever remembering that happening since Dave S. left the office. For a moment I felt someone else noticed at least some small part of my job and gave me hand. Or maybe the cleaning people thought it was the recycling bin because it was so full.

1:18 p.m. - 2005-06-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora