terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Algebra and the Pirate's Code

My first night of remedial algebra, all I could think of was the pirate's code from Pirates of the Carribean: Them that falls behind, gets left behind.

I was astonished last night when about half of the class didn't show up. The prof cannot have been clearer about attendence and keeping up with the assignments. Maybe I'm just too A/R for sanity (alright, I am too A/R for sanity), but skipping the fourth night of class with a test next week strikes me as stoopid.

The classroom was freezing and many of us were folded in on oursleves to try to keep warm. Blessedly, the prof said we have these sections to cover, and we can be done an hour early if we skip break and get through them. Which we did.

Even though I got to bed at a reasonable hour, I couldn't sleep. What is it about my brain that will not let go of things that make me anxious? Gotta have a talk with my unconcious soon.


Yesterday was a lovely outing with Knitgeek at the Folklife Fesitval. Read her diary for details, but indeed we are geeks. My big question for the day upon seeing the humbling demonstration of Arabic calligraphy was why should a culture develop right-to-left writing when righthandness predominates? Ah well, I'm in awe of anyone who can produce handwork of such exquisite beauty. And I want one of the hats where they do all the whitework embroidery first, then go back and fill in with colored thread. Amazing stuff. Wasn't algebra invented by the Arabs?

6:35 a.m. - 2005-06-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora