terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Review Lunch

I'm not sure if I'm feeling sick from too much rich food or what I was told over lunch at my review.

There's no complaints about my work per se, but rather about my unwillingness to makes waves, take the initiative and reach out to the other components of the company for which I work and generally not worry about permission but to just get on with it. My boss says that basically I have to change my personality to achieve what I want to achieve. This is not going to happen, no matter how right he may or may not be. I'm disliked enough for what I currently try to nudge people into. I don't care to actively alienate people even more. Worse, he's making some general changes about how things are being handled in the bureau and I'm going to be on the desk more, not less.

I am so discouraged. Believe me, my boss is the man you want to work for. He's patient, supportive, pursuasive, knowledgable, energized and genuinely caring towards the people who work for him. He'll cut you slack and let you hang yourself if that is what you have a mind to try (i.e., he tolerates failure if you are experimenting productively). I admire him greatly. But where he needs to go with the business is not where I want to be. At least we've got that straight.

2:14 p.m. - 2005-06-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora