terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Durned Financial Advisor

Working with a financial planner stinks in so many ways, most of them personal. You have to tell a (probably) complete stranger about how you live and then (if you are smart) let that person make you uncomfortable while you agree to some basic changes in your lifestyle. Of course if you are good with money to start with, are frugal and plan your expenditures carefully, this isn't a problem. If you are a live day-to-day type, this is very annoying indeed. And you have to address all those nagging little responsibilities that just don't seem so important until you die, and then why should you care anyway?

The real problem is that it is making me realize just how completely uninvolved I am with the world around me. The various steps the advisor has suggested means that I have to talk to others about my life, like my lawyer about what I want in a will. What do I want? What do I care about? What ripples from my stone sinking into the pond of oblivion do I care to try to control while my head is still above the water? And does any of it matter ultimately?

I have perhaps 35-40 years left in my life if I follow my family's pattern of longevity. There are no guarantees, of course. shall I just spend the time the way I have been, which isn't so bad, or is there something I need to get off my duff to accomplish?

Oh well, at least now everything should be in order when I go. ;-) And that's a Good Thing (TM).

6:12 a.m. - 2005-07-30
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora