terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Algebra Twilight Zone

I believe I have entered the Algebra Twilight Zone. At this point in the class we are all getting a bit punchy. For some reason it came out last night that I had a degree in English, and for the rest of the evening Prof Joe Fred kept making jokes about how hard it was to write and how easy math was in comparison, and using big words and asking me how to spell them. It wasn't obnoxious, just weird.

And a few weeks ago after the prior test, I took a break and went out to a quiet courtyard and did Tai Chi to try to calm down. One of my classmates spotted me, and now seems to think I know something about martial arts and meditation. He's a nice kid, and apparently has studied Tae Kwon Do or some such, so it isn't like talking to an ignorant wannabe. It is just strange having a twenty-something actively asking me about where to study Tai Chi and my practice, etc.

Oh, and last week's test, it was an abysmal failure. I rather feared it would since my brain went blank the moment I looked at the paper. It was, however, not pleasant to have that confirmed. I guess I wasn't the only one, because the very generous Prof offered everyone the chance to redo the test as a take-home (requiring us to completely show our work), and then average the two grades. All but two class members took him up on it. Even if I get every point I'll still only barely squeak a B. That's how bad it was. But at least I've got my second chance. But the final .... One day at a time.

7:24 a.m. - 2005-08-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora