terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Look Out Data World

My back hurts, my shoulder muscles are in knots, and my eyes are dried out from staring at little computer windows. The headache is a given.

I've been doing this for two days steadily. I do this a lot anyway, but rarely in the kind of concentrated slogs I've trying to get through now.

I am doing some serious digging into the company's archives, paper and electronic, and I'm getting damned close to having the kernel of the database product I've had ambitions to produce for a long, long time.

Much of the work has been done over the last couple of years, but I am finally dotting i's, crossing t's and making damn sure that if I don't have it in my spreadsheet it is because it doesn't exist.

I'm compiling a master list, and it is adding up to an impressive amount of data, and that in a sellable form. It is not yet a true database, but it could so easily take that next leap. I'm ready, it's ready, now is the company ready?

I find myself feeling fiercely proud and protective of all this effort. I guess this is my baby, and delivery is nigh. Look out data world.

I'm such a geek.

3:13 p.m. - 2005-08-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora