terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah, I'm a Real Artist

I started a new painting last night; it is coming along well. Good thing since I am experimenting mixing some colors and a gloss medium.

This painting and the one to follow are being done at my sister's behest. It seems her local township association decided to hold a house tour. She lives in a 200+ year old farm house that has seen some changes over the years, but the oldest parts are still visible, and the locals wanted to get a closer look. So they listed it as one to visit.

The main problem with this is that they didn't ask first. When my sister got a call from the organizer informing her of the day and times she was to keep the house open to perhaps 500 walk-throughs, she was livid. The organizer whined that the brochures were already printed and this was an important house in the neighborhood. My sister and her SO have agreed that a) that's not their problem and b) while they would like to have good relations with the locals, they did not want strangers wandering through the house.

The upshot is that my sister's SO (who is a very media savvy guy) is going to do a pictoral display of old photos showing the various incarnations of the house and drawings of some features. It will be displayed at the top of the driveway. The organizer is not happy, but what can she do?

To get back to the paintings, there's an art show associated with the house tour. The family of my sister's SO are all terribly artistic, some professionally. So she wants to set up a rival show along the property line, and she wants her family represented as well. I have been asked to fill the space.

I am nowhere near the class of my out-of-laws, but I think I can turn out a couple of respectable canvases. My sister also intends to put price tags on the items in the display. I am vastly amused to contemplate the possibility that someone would pay to possess one of my works. It would be a real -tion; vindication, justification, satisfaction? In any case, it would be cool to recoup my costs at least and be able to brag that I don't just have to give away my output. ;-)


Work is a slog, but a semi-productive one. I've got a list to fullfil that could be done by early next week if I persist. And I will. I have plans for this particular project, after which I reveal in all their logical glory, if my company does not respond postively, I will have well and truly had it with short-shighted management and no respect for my work.


I've been reading a book about personality types based on Jungian principles. Very interesting and insightful. I'm hoping it will help me cope with some conflicts among my friends, as well as some distress I'm feeling about the world in general. People can be just so damned stupid and self-centered, and worse, they want to be RIGHT, RIGHT, RIGHT, which means everyone else is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Is there a real Unitarian Jihad party I can join?

6:36 a.m. - 2005-08-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora