terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work and Diplomacy

Suits 'n ties, my oh my. The head of our Asian bureaus is visiting today. She's quite nice and her English is better than many Americans I've met. I've been put on the short list for having lunch with her. Much as I hate the schmoozing part, my boss is doing me a huge favor. This is an opportunity to get my ideas to a wider audience, after all. I just wish I hadn't picked yesterday to have my chin break out in a nasty fever blister. It does detract somewhat from the well cut suit and my best ear studs.

And even more to my credit today I decided to be diplomatic and try to co-opt a coworker into supporting one of my experiments rather than telling him I needed him to do something. I asked his opinion and solicited his advice, even though I'd pretty much made up my mind what I wanted already. Damn. It even worked. Someday I may actually be able to claim a few people skills. ;-)


And thanks indirectly to Ormswyn, my A/C is up and limping. I told him what the A/C salesman had said, and the Dear O Man offered me a special kind of tape that was needed to patch a few leaks in the blower so I didn't have to spend big bucks buying something for which I needed only 5 feet.

Over the past weekend I taped up the furnace. Last night I got home to nasty humidity courtesy of Ophelia and decided to see if things were working any better. Darned if it didn't get the temperature down a few degrees and the humidity to a tolerable level. The cats hated it because the condo was shut up, but I slept somewhat better than expected. I shall survive what remains of the summer. Maybe the heat will work better this winter? Hope so. The heating bills weren't too bad last year, but any conservation is gonna be welcome.

11:06 a.m. - 2005-09-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora