terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not a Happy Workplace

I am a leaf on the tree, and I shake when the rest shakes.

We had a Bad Incident (TM) at work yesterday afternoon that has implications for our access to an important news source. Doubtless it will be smoothed over, but such events always leave everyone nervous and uncertain for days afterward. This is a business where impaired confidence can have exaggerated consequences.

The good part is that it wasn't my fault, the bad part is that that doesn't matter. We all have to pull together and do our best under the collective burden of blame.

As part of the afternoon's fun, I sent out my latest effort to get management to pay attention to standard business practices in product development. Because we've survived so long on personal initiative and talent, there's no culture of structured development. And what needs to be done can't happen organically anymore. We'll see if it gets attention this time. My boss thinks the time is ripe. Maybe.


I've now got my hotel reservation set for London in January. Keilyn has given me some good info on train passes that has resulted in a few changes in my itinerary (to stay within the area the pass covers). However, none of them are in any sense disappointing, and the rest will be there for the next trip. Trading Salisbury for Chester just isn't a big deal, and just might be better because it is nearer.

Three months. It is not so far away. It is something to look forward to. I can use that right now.

6:42 a.m. - 2005-10-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora