terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weight. Bleh.

Some friends of mine were extolling the virtues of a web site called www.fitday.com as being instrumental in their recently losing a significant amount of weight.

I checked it out today. Now I know why I am overweight. When was the last time I really gave some thought as to what I was consuming? It is not only scary in terms of amount, but also as to composition. Who would have thought that over 40% of my diet would be from fat?

Time to get serious about this.


Why is it that the political party that espouses adhering to the Consitution wants to create a de facto Christian state? I don't get it.

Yes, the founding fathers were largely Christian, but more importantly, they were also dominated by Masons. They saw religion as private (if essential), and governance as a civil duty.

The latest Bush efforts to persuade conservatives about his Supreme Court nominee involves putting her out there for her religious beliefs. To me this means that she's not going to strictly interpret the Constitution, but be as much as a judicial activist as any liberal.

I want a balanced court with both liberals and conservatives, but I also want it to be of men and women who are at the height of their professional powers and who bring experience to the bench. Bush has done nothing but insult the law with his high-handed imposition of ideology on a most noble institution. The shame is that no one in the Senate would ever stand on principle and call this for what it is.

I have no doubt Ms. Miers is a perfectly lovely person, and worthy of respect. But the best possible candidate for this job? Please. Spare me the Orwellian declarations.

9:29 a.m. - 2005-10-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora