terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I *Hate* Algebra

I am ready to bloody my skull with pounding it against the wall of algebra. I am hating this semester beyond even my high expectations. I'm one third into this term and already I can barely force myself to go to class or do the homework. I spent almost the entire weekend curled up in front of the TV watching old Due South episodes. (OK, I have a slight cold, so it wasn't entirely avoidance behavior.)

I honestly do not know how I will get through until December. The majesty and beauty of mathematics is beyond my feeble brain. All I can see is tedious exercises in stupid "real world" problems and a pile of rules that only grows and no decent guidelines on when and where to apply them. Plus the damned graphing calculator has so many buttons and options that I can't even begin to figure out what I'm supposed to do with it. And I entered one formula yesterday that has apparently bunged up the internal workings and now it won't graph at all. If not for Prof. Joe Fred I believe I should have quit by now. I really wonder if I'll manage to pass. At least the next test is a take home.

Why did I ever think I could do this?


As part of our homework this week we had to watch the NOVA on Einstein and history of E=m*c squared and his mircle year of 1905. It got me to thinking about miracle years. I had a couple way back around 1990. I read and researched and wrote like a fiend, and did some work of which I'm still proud.

Where did all that go? I can hardly get up to go to work in the morning, much less get an article written. The last thing I did was over two years ago. It is not that I lack ideas. But execution? Gone, gone gone. What was the last thing I did that had the slightest hint of genius to it?

9:50 a.m. - 2005-10-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora